Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Clinical Resource Toolkit: Pediatric Care Online

Clinical toolkit of resources commonly used in the 3rd and 4th year

Pediatric Care Online @ UCFCOMHSL

How do I access Pediatric Care Online at UCF COM Health Sciences Library?

Pediatric Care Online can be accessed from the link in the Resources box below or through the Health Sciences Library website:

  • By selecting Online Databases in the right navigation menu of the website & searching for "Pediatric Care Online."

Resources

Pediatric Care Online Logo


Resource Link

Other Useful Links

Pediatric Care Online Support

Additional resources from the Pediatric Care Online Support page.

Library Support

If you have any questions or need additional support with any of the library's resources, you can stop by and visit the Health Sciences Library Front Desk during our desk hours of 8:00am - 5:00pm, Monday through Friday, or contact the Library using one of the options below.

Overview

What is Pediatric Care Online?

Pediatric Care Online is a comprehensive pediatrics resource from the American Academy of Pediatrics. The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) is an organization of over 62,000 board-certified pediatrician members dedicated to the health of all children.


Pediatric Care Online contains:

  • Point-of-Care Quick Reference (quick access answers to clinical problems)
  • Pediatric Drug Lookup
  • Interactive Periodicity Schedule
  • Multimedia Resources: Visual Library, Videos, Webinars, etc.

Pediatric Care Online also provides access to full-text and essential clinical information from:

  • AAP Textbook of Pediatric Care
  • Bright Futures
  • Pediatric Patient Education
  • Red Book Online

What can I use PCO for?

The Point-of-Care Quick References allows users to quickly look-up Symptoms and more than 250 key topcs from American Academy of Pediatrics publications for efficient clinical problem-solving.

The Pediatric Drug Lookup tool, powered by Lexicomp, provides a continually updated database of essential pediatric and neonatal drugs. Drugs can be viewed by brand name, generic name, or class. Information about each drug includes dosing recommendations, administration, and other medication data.

Under the Tools menu, Pediatric Care Online provides access to a number of online calculators to quickly determine different pediatric measurements; such as body mass index, milestones, and immunization schedules.

The Pediatric Patient Education database is built specifically to address the needs of the pediatric patient; from well-care checkups, to vaccination support, to acute care follow-up, and more. The comprehensive library provides access to more than 350 patient education handouts. Most of the topics are available in English and in Spanish, and all are written at an easy-to-read level. The handouts are available for download in PDF form; some topics also include multimedia elements, such as videos, that must be viewed in a web browser.

Well Child Resources provide presentations of Bright Futures-recommended history, physical examinations, immunizations, and screening assessments for ages and stages of child development; as well as handbooks and documentation regarding preventative services and recommendations.

Pediatric Care Online provides access to a range of multimedia resources including the Visual Library, Videos, & Webinars.

Visual Library

  • All images from the American Academy of Pediatrics Textbook of Pediatric Care
  • More than 1,000 additional, online-exclusive, images
  • Images from the Visual Library are permitted to be downloaded as Microsoft PowerPoint slides for use in presentations

Videos

  • Showcases a number of medical procedures and demonstrations
  • A new series of videos that provide essential training and continuing education on how to perform medical procedures in the office or hospital setting

Webinars

  • Access to webinars on important and timely topics in pediatrics

Mobile App

Please follow the instructions below to install and activate the AAP Pediatric Care Online app on your mobile device.

  1. Go to Pediatric Care Online from the Library's website. 
  2. Go to the top right of the page and click on Sign In.
  3. Click on Create account. This takes you to another website.
  4. For Account Type, choose Individual and fill out the required fields. Click continue.
  5. Fill out the rest of the form and create the account.
  6. Go back to Pediatric Care Online and log in there with your new account.
  7. You will be asked to agree to Terms and Conditions. This will activate your account.
  8. Download and install the AAP Pediatric Care Online app from the app store on your mobile device.
  9. Log in with the username and password you just created.
  10. You will have access for 120 days and then you will have to authenticate your AAP account again by going to Pediatric Care Online from the library’s website and signing in to your account.

Website Disclaimer

The University of Central Florida College of Medicine and the Harriet F. Ginsburg Health Sciences Library are not responsible for the content of the third-party (external) sites contained in this research guide. The information provided in this guide, or through links to third-party sites, is not intended as a substitute for medical or professional advice; these links are provided for the user's convenience only. The views and opinions expressed by the third-party sites do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of the University of Central Florida, the UCF College of Medicine, or the Harriet F. Ginsburg Health Sciences Library.