Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Clinical Resource Toolkit: Lexicomp

Clinical toolkit of resources commonly used in the 3rd and 4th year

Lexicomp @ UCFCOMHSL

How do I access Lexicomp at UCF COM Health Sciences Library?

Lexicomp can be accessed from the link in the Resources box below, or through the Health Sciences Library website:

  • By selecting Online Databases in the right navigation menu of the website & searching for "Lexicomp."

Resources

Lexicomp Support

Additional support resources are available through Lexicomp's Knowledge Base on their Training & Support page. Lexicomp Support may also be contacted directly via phone or email.


Lexicomp Support Contact Information

Library Support

If you have any questions or need additional support with any of the library's resources, you can stop by and visit the Health Sciences Library Front Desk during our desk hours of 8:00am - 5:00pm, Monday through Friday, or contact the Library using one of the options below.

Overview

What is Lexicomp Online?

Lexicomp Online is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools that provides users with an extensive medical library. Lexicomp provides access to clinical drug resources including: calculators, identifiers, interaction & overdose assessments, and patient education resources. Lexicomp also links out to VisualDX and Facts & Comparisons: Drug Comparison Tables.

What can I use Lexicomp for?

Lexicomp falls into the category of Decision Support Tools and is designed to provide quick access to clinically relevant answers regarding drug use. Lexicomp is an "...industry-leading provider of drug information and tools to help improve patient safety, ensure compliance, and elevate the quality of care patients receive."

The Infectious Diseases database is an all-inclusive database that assists in the diagnosis and treatment of infectious diseases by combining disease monographs into one easy-to-use reference.

The Infectious Diseases database contains Monographs for:

  • Disease Syndromes
  • Organisms
  • Diagnostic Tests & Procedures
  • Antimicrobial Drug Therapy
  • Potential Bioterrorism Agents
  • Anthrax
  • Botulism
  • Smallpox
  • Ebola
Lexicomp Drug Information Database
  • The Lexicomp Drug Information Database is designed for quick drug information access. Lexicomp's search function allows users to quickly access the area of the drug information needed in the entry; i.e.: pediatric vs. adult dosing, etc. Each drug entry also shows the date of the most recent update made to the drug information in the entry.
  • The Lexicomp Drug Information Database provides drug information from nine databases covering:
    • Adult Drugs & Dosing
    • Geriatric Drugs & Dosing
    • Pediatric Drugs & Dosing
    • International Drugs (Drugs available outside of North America)
    • Complementary, Alternative, & Integrative Medicines
    • Off-Label Drug Uses
Lexi-Tox: Toxicology
  • Lexi-Tox is a toxicology resource designed for point-of-care use in the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of poisonings and drug overdoses. This resource also contains toxicology-specific calculators and a drug identification tool.
  • Lexi-Tox contains information on:
    • Agents of Toxicity: Chemical, Pharmaceutical, Environmental, Nuclear, Biologic, & Terrorism Agents
    • Nontoxic Agents
    • Antidotes
    • Decontaminants
    • Household Products
Lexi-Interact: Drug Interactions
  • Lexi-Interact is a complete drug and herbal interaction analysis program capable of assessing potential interactions for: Drug/Drug, Drug/Allergy, & Duplicate Therapy. The interactions tool allows users to enter medications (prescription & OTC), natural products, foods, and alcohol. Allergies may be entered by medication name (e.g., aspirin) or by the pharmacologic class (e.g., salicylates).
Lexi-Calc

Lexi-Calc is an extensive medical calculations application that has partnered with MedCalc 3000 to create a unique computerized medical reference and tool set that encompasses a wide array of pertinent medical formulas and calculations. When practicing, teaching, & learning medicine based on solid, literature-based data, practitioners may be easily overwhelmed by the breadth of information that they must master. The Lexi-Calc application, in partnership with MedCalc 3000, helps simplify this task for clinicians, medical educators, nurses, & healthcare students by assembling easy-to-use, interactive tools to support evidence-based medicine.

The Lexi-Calc module includes the following calculators:

  • Infusion Calculators
  • Adult & Pediatric Organ Function Assessments
  • Conversion Calculators
  • Medical Formulas
  • Clinical Criteria Sets
  • Decision Tree Analysis Tools
Lab Tests and Diagnostic Procedures

This database provides detailed descriptions of diagnostic tests and procedures, as well as current information concerning the background & context of laboratory tests. Access information on patient preparation, specimen collection/handling, and clinical test result interpretation within numerous clinical areas and diagnostic disciplines.

Patient Education: Disease and Procedure
  • Lexicomp, in collaboration with UpToDate, provides a database that contains over 2,800 leaflets outlining Conditions, Procedures, Discharge Instructions, and Healthy Living topics to assist in educating patients. All of the leaflets are available in Spanish. In addition, over 340 of the most frequently accessed leaflets are also available in 19 other languages.
Patient Education: Adult Medication
  • Lexi-Patient Education, Lexicomp's patient advisory database, provides vital information on over 1,800 adult medications. Lexi-Patient Education follows a question-and-answer format ideal for patient counseling. The patient advisory leaflets support compliance with JCAHO standards and are written at an easy-to-comprehend reading level. The medication leaflets are available in 19 languages.
Patient Education: Pediatric Medication
  • Lexi-Patient Education, Lexicomp's patient advisory database, provides vital information on over 1,000 pediatric medications. Lexi-Patient Education follows a question-and-answer format ideal for patient counseling and is directed at the parent/guardian. The patient advisory leaflets support compliance with JCAHO standards and are written at an easy-to-comprehend reading level. The medication leaflets are available in 19 languages.

Using Lexicomp on a Mobile Device

Mobile Device Access:
Bookmarking a Database on a Mobile Device

The Health Sciences Library DOES NOT provide access to the Lexicomp mobile app.
Students can create a Quick Link Bookmark to access Lexicomp Online using mobile devices with internet access.

Please follow the instructions below to add a Quick Link Bookmark to Lexicomp Online on your mobile device.


Adding a Quick Link Bookmark to Lexicomp Online on a Mobile Device

 

Instructions for iOS Devices

  1. Open the website that you want to add to your Home Screen.
  2. Tap the "Share" button.
  3. Tap "Add to Home Screen". This will add the current site to your home screen.Bookmarking screenshot
  4. Optional: Give the quick link a name.
    - Before the quick link is added, the name can be edited; the default name is the title of the webpage.

Instructions for Android Devices

  1. Bookmark the website you want to add in the web browser.
  2. Return to your home screen and press & hold in an empty space to bring up the menu.
  3. Select "Shortcut" then "Bookmark".
  4. Pick the bookmark you wan to add.

Attention:
If you are using Firefox for Android, please follow the instructions in the provided link: How to Add a Shortcut to a Website on Android

Website Disclaimer

The University of Central Florida College of Medicine and the Harriet F. Ginsburg Health Sciences Library are not responsible for the content of the third-party (external) sites contained in this research guide. The information provided in this guide, or through links to third-party sites, is not intended as a substitute for medical or professional advice; these links are provided for the user's convenience only. The views and opinions expressed by the third-party sites do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of the University of Central Florida, the UCF College of Medicine, or the Harriet F. Ginsburg Health Sciences Library.