Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Clinical Resource Toolkit: Epocrates

Clinical toolkit of resources commonly used in the 3rd and 4th year

Epocrates @ UCFCOMHSL

The FREE version of Epocrates provides drug information, interaction check, pill ID, clinical practice guidelines, formulary, athenaText, tables, and calculators. Please note, access to some of the free content requires creating a free Epocrates account.  Epocrates is available as an app for Android and iOS mobile devices.

Medical students can have access to the full version of the app called Epocrates+ (Epocrates Plus), which includes all of the above content plus disease information, alternative medicine, ICD-10 and CPT codes, infectious disease treatment, and labs. Follow these directions to get Epocrates Plus. You will need a medical education number. Click here to find/get your ME number or call 202-789-7466.

How do I access Epocrates at UCF COM Health Sciences Library?

Epocrates can be accessed from the link in the Resources box below or through the Health Sciences Library website:

  • By selecting Online Databases in the left navigation menu of the website & searching for "Epocrates."
  • If you get Epocrates Plus, you can sign in to the online.epocrates.com website with your personal account to access all the features.

Resources


Resource Link

App Link

Epocrates Support

Additional support resources are available from the Epocrates Support page.

Library Support

If you have any questions or need additional support with any of the library's resources, you can stop by and visit the Health Sciences Library Front Desk during our desk hours of 8:00am - 5:00pm, Monday through Friday, or contact the Library using one of the options below.

Overview

What is Epocrates?

Epocrates is a clinical decision tool that provides you with accurate, reliable, and actionable clinical tools designed to integrate seamlessly into your daily workflow, assisting you with point-of-care decisions.

  • Rx and OTC monographs: pharmacology, prescribing and safety information, adult and pediatric dosing, adverse reactions, contraindications, black box warnings, pregnancy and lactation considerations, and more
  • Drug interaction checker: prevent harmful interactions between up to 30 brand, generic, OTC, or alternative drugs
  • Pill identifier: organized by shape, color, imprint code, etc.
  • 600+ dosing calculators, medical equations, and tools
  • Formularies: drug coverage for 6,600+ U.S. insurance plans, by state
  • Customizable home screen with drag-and-drop simplicity

Additional features in Epocrates+ :

  • Alternative medicine monographs: dosage, interactions, etc.
  • Peer-reviewed disease content from the BMJ
  • Labs, ICD-10 codes, and more medical content

What can I use Epocrates for?

Review drug prescribing and safety information for thousands of brand, generic, and OTC drugs. Includes adult and pediatric dosing; black box warnings, contraindications, adverse reactions, and drug interactions; safety/monitoring; pharmacology; and manufacturer and approximate retail price.

Check for potentially harmful interactions between up to 30 brand, generic, OTC, or alternative drugs at a time. View an overview detailing the interaction profile for each active ingredient of the drug product. Interaction details are presented at the ingredient level to help you determine which drug component may need to be adjusted, monitored, or substituted.

Identify a pill based on its imprint code and/or physical characteristics such as shape, color, and scoring. View a list of possible matches organized alphabetically by drug name, including images that can be enlarged with a tap.

Use over 600 dosing calculators, medical equations, and tools to improve efficiency. Favorite your most-used tools for easy access.

Review evidence-based, patient-specific guidelines from national specialty societies, condensed for the moments of care.

Scan brief medical news alerts and request more comprehensive information on a wide variety of specialty topics.

Access drug coverage information for over 6,600 insurance plans, by state. View your 30 most0used formularies within each drug monograph.

Disease Information

Consult in-depth, peer-reviewed disease content developed in collaboration with the British Medical Journal. View history and exam information, including risk and diagnostic factors; test categories, including Initial Tests, Tests to Consider, and Emerging Tests; differential diagnosis with links to associated topics; and follow-up.

 

Infectious Disease Treatment

Epocrates+ unlocks additional content, including robust disease and alternative medicine information, right in your app. You’ll also have access to labs and diagnostic information, saving you time in the moments of care.

 

Alternative Medicines

Consult concise drug monographs for alternative medicines, including popular herbals and other supplements. Review reported uses, reported doses for various conditions, cautions, adverse reactions, a list of synonyms, and other helpful information. Check for possible interactions with brand, generic, and OTC drugs—up to 30 at a time.

 

Labs & Diagnostic Information

Get information on hundreds of lab tests and panels. Consult normal lab value ranges for various populations, view preparation and collection guidance, and check test costs and associated ICD-10s. Review differentials consisting of drugs, conditions, and other factors that may contribute to abnormal test results.

Epocrates App

Mobile Content Access

Medical students can have access to the full version of the app called Epocrates+ (Epocrates Plus), which includes all of the above content plus disease information, alternative medicine, ICD-10 and CPT codes, infectious disease treatment, and labs. Follow these directions to get Epocrates Plus. You will need a medical education number. Click here to find/get your ME number or call 202-789-7466.

Please follow the instructions below to download & authenticate your account in the Epocrates app on your mobile device.


Installing Epocrates App on an iOS Device

 

  1. Open the App store, select Search at the bottom and search for "Epocrates."
  2. Once you've found the Epocrates app, tap the Get App button.
  3. Follow in the installation instructions on your iOS device.
  4. Open app.
  5. If this is your first time using Epocrates, you will need to create a FREE account.
  6. If you have an account, sign in with your Epocrates credentials.
  7. The app is now ready to use.

 


Installing Epocrates App on an Android Device

 

  1. Locate the App store on your phone, tap on the Search icon and search for "Epocrates."
  2. Select the application and tap to install the free app.
  3. Follow in the installation instructions on your Android device.
  4. Open app.
  5. If this is your first time using Epocrates, you will need to create a FREE account.
  6. If you have an account, sign in with your Epocrates credentials.
  7. The app is now ready to use.

 

Website Disclaimer

The University of Central Florida College of Medicine and the Harriet F. Ginsburg Health Sciences Library are not responsible for the content of the third-party (external) sites contained in this research guide. The information provided in this guide, or through links to third-party sites, is not intended as a substitute for medical or professional advice; these links are provided for the user's convenience only. The views and opinions expressed by the third-party sites do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of the University of Central Florida, the UCF College of Medicine, or the Harriet F. Ginsburg Health Sciences Library.