Skip to Main Content

Clinical Resource Toolkit: AccessMedicine

Clinical toolkit of resources commonly used in the 3rd and 4th year

AccessMedicine @ UCFCOMHSL

How do I access AccessMedicine at UCF COM Health Sciences Library?

AccessMedicine can be accessed from the link in the Resources box below or through the Health Sciences Library website:

  • In the Online Databases box on the homepage
  • Or Select Online Databases in the right navigation menu of the website & search for "AccessMedicine."

Resources

Resource Link
Other Useful Links

AccessMedicine Support

Please reach out to Customer Success for help with a technical issue at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com.

You can also call 1-888-307-5984 (toll free within the United States)

Library Support

If you have any questions or need additional support with any of the library's resources, you can stop by and visit the Health Sciences Library Front Desk during our desk hours of 8:00am - 5:00pm, Monday through Friday, or contact the Library using one of the options below.

Overview

What is AccessMedicine?
  • an online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of authoritative, trusted, and up-to-date knowledge. All compiled from the best minds in medicine.
  • provides medical students with the tools they need to excel in basic and advanced studies, clerkships, and crucial test prep; it helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with interactive content, self-assessment, and leading medical texts to enhance decision-making at the point-of-care; and allows for practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcomes.
How is AccessMedicine maintained and updated?
  • Authoritative, trusted, and continuously updated with optimized content for any mobile device, AccessMedicine is guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes the medical field’s top academic experts.

What can I use AccessMedicine for?

Leading medical textbooks – More than 100 references help students and residents succeed throughout their medical education, including the latest editions of the world’s most respected medical texts such as, Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine and CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment.
Extensive multimedia library – A unique collection of  examination and procedural videos, patient safety modules, audio files, and animations that feature complicated concepts presented in terms students can understand are available, including videos illustrating fundamental medical concepts drawn from the world’s most trusted medical textbook, Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine.
Differential Diagnosis Tool – Connect to more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus®, a tool that saves you time by allowing you to browse by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.

Multiple Quick Reference Tools –

  • Practice Guidelines are annually updated guidelines from Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care that assist in disease screening, prevention, and management by providing succinct digest versions of longer original guidelines.
  • Diagnostic Tests, from Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests, is a quick reference guide to the selection and interpretation of commonly used diagnostic tests, including laboratory procedures in the clinical setting.
  • Quick Medical Dx & Rx is a collection of concise evidence-based outlines of conditions and disorders most often encountered in medical practice – perfect for high-yield review or for quick reference in the clinical setting.
2 Minute Medicine – Concise and curated reviews and summaries of new medical studies. Studies are rated for the appraisal of evidence-based medicine.
Customizable Patient Education – Comprehensive, reliable healthcare information for adults, pediatrics, and medicines, available in multiple languages and for thousands of topics to help you help your patients understand their care and improve their health status.
Integrated Drug Database – Look up dosing, indications, and adverse reactions quickly for generic and brand-name drugs, with printable patient handouts presented in English and Spanish.
Downloadable Images - Tens of thousands of photos and illustrations to aid in visual diagnosis are available to save and download to presentations for educational purposes.
Cases – A selection of cases from across the popular Case FilesTM series and Pathophysiology of Disease helps medical students better understand and evaluate real world experiences by offering questions to frame the case and the approach to the patient.
CME – Receive CME credit for searches and prepare for in-services, certification, and recertification with content that covers a broad area of medicine.

AccessMedicine Tutorials

AccessMedicine Mobile App

AccessMedicine App

The Health Sciences Library provides COM students with access to premium content on the Access app via institutional authentication.

Please follow the instructions below to download & authenticate the Access app on your mobile device.

Downloading and Authenticating the Access App

 

  1. Create a free Access profile account on AccessMedicine.
    • Go to AccessMedicine.
    • Click on My Profile on the top right.
    • Click "create a free access profile" and follow the prompts.
  2. Download and install the app from the app store to your mobile device.
  3. Sign in to the Access app with the Access profile account you created on AccessMedicine. 
  4. Please note, you must re-authenticate every 90 days by going to the library's website, going to AccessMedicine, and then signing into your Access profile account.
Further App Download Instructions

Below are further resources, provided by the vendor, on downloading and installing the DynaMed app on mobile devices.

Website Disclaimer

The University of Central Florida College of Medicine and the Harriet F. Ginsburg Health Sciences Library are not responsible for the content of the third-party (external) sites contained in this research guide. The information provided in this guide, or through links to third-party sites, is not intended as a substitute for medical or professional advice; these links are provided for the user's convenience only. The views and opinions expressed by the third-party sites do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of the University of Central Florida, the UCF College of Medicine, or the Harriet F. Ginsburg Health Sciences Library.