HSL Library Guides: BMS 6016 Practice of Medicine 2: Topic Review Resources

Basic Medical Information

Basic Medical Information
Resources for general Medical knowledge

Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, 13e This link opens in a new window Author: Bickley, Lynn S. Year: 2021
Robbins & Kumar Basic Pathology, 11e This link opens in a new window
Author: Kumar, Vinay
Year: 2023
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- Peer-Reviewed Practice Guidelines
- Gold Standard Drug Information
- Full-Text Clinics Series, Medical Reference books, & Journals
Practical Guide to Clinical Medicine: Vital Signs [UCSD] This link opens in a new window
- Comprehensive Physical Examination and Clinical Education Resource.

~ Return to Top ~

Diagnostic

Diagnostic Information
Resources for Diagnostic Tools, Diagnosis, and Differential Diagnosis

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- Answers to Clinical Questions, Quick Reference, Case Files, & Drugs
- Free account registration is required to access some resources
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
- Now in its Fifth Edition and featuring completely reshot content and new clinical skills videos, Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course.
- The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
- An Evidence-Based, Clinical Decision Support tool which provides evidence-based recommendations on 3,000+ topics.
- Evidence is evaluated using two systems: Levels of Evidence & GRADE.
- Includes: Point-of-Care tools, ICD-9 codes, & Patient Information.
- Available as a mobile App.
NeuroLogic Exam This link opens in a new window
- 250+ Video Demonstrations of the Neurologic Exam of Adults & Children.
PEPID Online: Clinical Rotation Companion This link opens in a new window
- All-in-one, Point-of-care medical reference tool.
Practical Guide to Clinical Medicine: Vital Signs [UCSD] This link opens in a new window
- Comprehensive Physical Examination and Clinical Education Resource.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- An Evidence-Based, Clinical Decision Support Resource.
- Authored by Physicians to help Healthcare Practitioners make the best decisions at the Point-of-Care.
- Available as an app.

~ Return to Top ~

Drug

Drug Information
Resources for Drugs, Drug Interactions, and Drug Comparison

Epocrates This link opens in a new window
- Epocrates provides drug information, interaction check, pill ID, clinical practice guidelines, formulary, athenaText, tables, and calculators.
- Epocrates Plus provides access to all the free content plus disease information, alternative medicine, ICD-10 and CPT codes, infectious disease treatment, and labs.
- Epocrates Plus is available to medical students. Follow these directions to get Epocrates Plus. You will need a medical education number. Click here to find/get your ME number or call the AMA Member Service Center at 800-262-3211. It is available Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM until 5:00 PM CST.
Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
- A Comprehensive, Point-of-Care, Drug Information Database.
Facts & Comparisons E-Answers This link opens in a new window
- Drug Database containing: A-Z Drug Facts, Drug Identification Tool, Herbal Interaction Facts, MedFacts Patient Information, 5 - Minute Consult Series, and more
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
- Authoritative Resource on Dietary Supplements, Natural Medicines, and Complementary, Alternative, & Integrative Therapies.
- Formerly called Natural Standard
PDR.net This link opens in a new window
- FDA approved Drug Information and Drug Alerts

~ Return to Top ~

Resources as Apps

Resources as Apps
Commonly used CQRA Resources available as mobile Apps

Access by McGraw Hill App This link opens in a new window
- This app is for the Access suite of products. The Health Sciences Library subscribes to AccessMedicine, JAMAevidence, Case Files Collection, and Pharmacotherapy Principles & Practice.
- A My Access account is required for the mobile app; Click here to create an account.
DynaMed App This link opens in a new window
- Mobile access to DynaMed content.
- Features Offline content access, Topic bookmarking, and Topic notations.
- For installation instructions please see the M1 Technology Guide: DynaMed Plus.
Epocrates App This link opens in a new window
- Contains Drug, Disease, EBM Treatments & Guidelines, and Diagnostic Reference tools.
- Covers 3,300+ Drugs and 600+ Alternative Medicines along with Prescribing Information, Pill Identifier, Pill Pictures, & Drug-Herbal Interaction Tool.
- For installation instructions, please see the M1 Technology Guide: Epocrates.
UpToDate App This link opens in a new window
- The mobile version of the UpToDate database.
- An Evidence-Based, Clinical Decision Support Resource App.
- Access to this app is restricted; please check the Access Policy before downloading.

~ Return to Top ~

Epidemiology

Epidemiology Information
Resources for Disease incidence, patterns, causes, and effects

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
- An Evidence-Based, Clinical Decision Support tool which provides evidence-based recommendations on 3,000+ topics.
- Evidence is evaluated using two systems: Levels of Evidence & GRADE.
- Includes: Point-of-Care tools, ICD-9 codes, & Patient Information.
- Available as a mobile App.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- An Evidence-Based, Clinical Decision Support Resource.
- Authored by Physicians to help Healthcare Practitioners make the best decisions at the Point-of-Care.
- Available as an app.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- Answers to Clinical Questions, Quick Reference, Case Files, & Drugs
- Free account registration is required to access some resources
PEPID Online: Clinical Rotation Companion This link opens in a new window
- All-in-one, Point-of-care medical reference tool.

~ Return to Top ~

Research

Medical Research Information
Resources for finding Medical Research and Studies

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- Includes Links to Full-Text Articles where available.
The Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Contains the following Databases:
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
- Cochrane Database of Systemic Reviews
- Cochrane Methodology Register
- Database of Abstracts of Review of Effects
- Health Technology Assessment
- National Health Service Economic Evaluation

~ Return to Top ~

Treatment & Therapy

Treatment & Therapy Information
Resources for Treatment & Therapy options and Comparisons

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
- An Evidence-Based, Clinical Decision Support tool which provides evidence-based recommendations on 3,000+ topics.
- Evidence is evaluated using two systems: Levels of Evidence & GRADE.
- Includes: Point-of-Care tools, ICD-9 codes, & Patient Information.
- Available as a mobile App.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- An Evidence-Based, Clinical Decision Support Resource.
- Authored by Physicians to help Healthcare Practitioners make the best decisions at the Point-of-Care.
- Available as an app.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- Answers to Clinical Questions, Quick Reference, Case Files, & Drugs
- Free account registration is required to access some resources
ClinicalKey: Practice Guidelines This link opens in a new window
- Database contains over 4,000 Practice Guidelines.
PEPID Online: Clinical Rotation Companion This link opens in a new window
- All-in-one, Point-of-care medical reference tool.

~ Return to Top ~

Unusual Presentations

Unusual Presentation Information
Resources for Unusual Presentation of Diseases, Symptoms, etc.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- Includes Links to Full-Text Articles where available.

~ Return to Top ~

BMS 6016 Practice of Medicine 2: Topic Review Resources

Clinical Questions & Topic Review

Topic Review Resources

Topics for Review

Basic Medical Information

Basic Medical Information
Resources for general Medical knowledge

Diagnostic

Diagnostic Information
Resources for Diagnostic Tools, Diagnosis, and Differential Diagnosis

Drug

Drug Information
Resources for Drugs, Drug Interactions, and Drug Comparison

Resources as Apps

Resources as Apps
Commonly used CQRA Resources available as mobile Apps

Epidemiology

Epidemiology Information
Resources for Disease incidence, patterns, causes, and effects

Research

Medical Research Information
Resources for finding Medical Research and Studies

Treatment & Therapy

Treatment & Therapy Information
Resources for Treatment & Therapy options and Comparisons

Unusual Presentations

Unusual Presentation Information
Resources for Unusual Presentation of Diseases, Symptoms, etc.

BMS 6016 Practice of Medicine 2: Topic Review Resources

Clinical Questions & Topic Review

Topic Review Resources

Topics for Review

Basic Medical Information

Basic Medical Information Resources for general Medical knowledge

Diagnostic

Diagnostic Information Resources for Diagnostic Tools, Diagnosis, and Differential Diagnosis

Drug

Drug Information Resources for Drugs, Drug Interactions, and Drug Comparison

Resources as Apps

Resources as Apps Commonly used CQRA Resources available as mobile Apps

Epidemiology

Epidemiology Information Resources for Disease incidence, patterns, causes, and effects

Research

Medical Research Information Resources for finding Medical Research and Studies

Treatment & Therapy

Treatment & Therapy Information Resources for Treatment & Therapy options and Comparisons

Unusual Presentations

Unusual Presentation Information Resources for Unusual Presentation of Diseases, Symptoms, etc.

Basic Medical Information
Resources for general Medical knowledge

Diagnostic Information
Resources for Diagnostic Tools, Diagnosis, and Differential Diagnosis

Drug Information
Resources for Drugs, Drug Interactions, and Drug Comparison

Resources as Apps
Commonly used CQRA Resources available as mobile Apps

Epidemiology Information
Resources for Disease incidence, patterns, causes, and effects

Medical Research Information
Resources for finding Medical Research and Studies

Treatment & Therapy Information
Resources for Treatment & Therapy options and Comparisons

Unusual Presentation Information
Resources for Unusual Presentation of Diseases, Symptoms, etc.