HSL Library Guides: BMS 6001 Cellular Function & Medical Genetics: Databases

Quick Pick Databases and Their Apps

A selection of some of the most commonly referenced Databases from the Health Sciences Library.

Databases

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- Instant answers to Clinical questions.
- Clinical Case Files & Self-Assessment questions.
- E-Textbooks: Harrison's Online, Hurst's The Heart, Principles of Critical Care, and the Lange Series Textbooks.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- Peer-Reviewed Practice Guidelines.
- Customizable Patient Handouts.
- Gold Standard Drug Information.
- Full-Text Medical Reference Books & Journals.
- Full-Text Clinics Series.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
- An Evidence-Based, Clinical Decision Support tool which provides evidence-based recommendations on 3,000+ topics.
- Evidence is evaluated using two systems: Levels of Evidence & GRADE.
- Includes: Point-of-Care tools, ICD-9 codes, & Patient Information.
DynaMedex This link opens in a new window
- Combines the curated disease content of DynaMed with the comprehensive view into treatment options, depth and breadth of drug information, and advanced search capabilities of Micromedex.
- Evidence is evaluated using two systems: Levels of Evidence & GRADE.
- Includes: Point-of-Care tools, ICD-9 codes, & Patient Information.
EndNote This link opens in a new window
- Search Online Bibliographic Databases.
- Organizes References, Images, and PDFs.
- Bibliography & Figure List creation and management.
- Supports Multiple Languages.
Epocrates This link opens in a new window
- 3,300+ Brand-Name & Generic Prescription Drugs and 600+ Alternative Medicines.
- Includes: Prescribing Information, Pill Pictures & Identifier, and Drug - Herbal Interaction Tool.
Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
- A Comprehensive, Point-of-Care, Drug Information Database.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- Includes Links to Full-Text Articles where available.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- An Evidence-Based, Clinical Decision Support Resource.
- Created by Physicians to assist in making the best decisions at the Point-of-Care.
VisualDX This link opens in a new window
- A Clinical Decision Support System: Recognition & Diagnosis of Conditions by Visual Symptoms.
- Disease Presentation by: Age, Skin Type, Location, and Severity.

Databases as Apps

Access by McGraw Hill App This link opens in a new window
- This app is for the Access suite of products. The Health Sciences Library subscribes to AccessMedicine, JAMAevidence, Case Files Collection, and Pharmacotherapy Principles & Practice.
- A My Access account is required for the mobile app; Click here to create an account.
ClinicalKey App This link opens in a new window
- This app is a clinical resource designed to provide physicians with fast, clinically relevant answers from Elsevier’s enormous library of proprietary medical and surgical content.
- This app is available for Android and iOS mobile devices.
- You must register for a free account on the ClinicalKey website to use the app. When you register, ensure you access ClinicalKey via the library’s website with your NID and NID password if off-campus. Use your UCF email address when you register. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email. Click the link in the email to activate your remote access. Remote access is for 180 days. After 180 days, you must log onto the ClinicalKey website via the library’s website and log into your account to re-activate remote access.
DynaMed App This link opens in a new window
- Mobile access to DynaMed's content featuring Offline content access and Topic bookmarking & notations.
- For installation instructions, see the M1 Technology Guide.
DynaMedex App This link opens in a new window
- Mobile access to DynaMedex content.
- Features offline content access, topic bookmarking, and topic notations.
- For installation instructions, please click here.
EndNote App This link opens in a new window
- App Version of EndNote Citation Management System.
- Organizes References, Images, and PDFs.
- Syncs with EndNote Web Accounts.
Epocrates App This link opens in a new window
- Epocrates provides drug information, interaction check, pill ID, clinical practice guidelines, formulary, athenaText, tables, and calculators.
- Epocrates Plus provides access to all the free content plus disease information, alternative medicine, ICD-10 and CPT codes, infectious disease treatment, and labs.
- Epocrates Plus is available to medical students. Follow these directions to get Epocrates Plus. You will need a medical education number. Click here to find/get your ME number or call the AMA Member Service Center at 800-262-3211. It's available Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM until 5:00 PM CST.
UpToDate App This link opens in a new window
- The mobile App version of the UpToDate database; an evidence-based, clinical-decision support resource.
VisualDx App This link opens in a new window
- A Clinical Decision Support System: Recognition & Diagnosis of Conditions by Visual Symptoms.
- Disease Presentation by: Age, Skin Type, Location, and Severity.
- Registration is required for the app.
- App installation instructions available at Health Sciences Library: Apps.

Databases

Health Sciences Library suggested Databases for students in the BMS 6001 module.

AccessMedicine: Drug Monographs This link opens in a new window
- Drug Indications, Dosages, Contraindications, and Drug Classes.
- Patient Education Handouts in English and Spanish.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
- Search Open Access STM (Science, Technology, & Medicine) Journals.
ClinicalKey: Drugs This link opens in a new window
- Gold Standard Drug Information.
- Generic & Brand-name Drugs, Investigational Medicines, Neutraceuticals, and Nutritional Products.
- FDA Approvals and Safety Notices are regularly updated.
Epocrates This link opens in a new window
- Epocrates provides drug information, interaction check, pill ID, clinical practice guidelines, formulary, athenaText, tables, and calculators.
- Epocrates Plus provides access to all the free content plus disease information, alternative medicine, ICD-10 and CPT codes, infectious disease treatment, and labs.
- Epocrates Plus is available to medical students. Follow these directions to get Epocrates Plus. You will need a medical education number. Click here to find/get your ME number or call the AMA Member Service Center at 800-262-3211. It is available Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM until 5:00 PM CST.
Testing.com This link opens in a new window
- Clinical Lab Tests by Name, Condition, and Screening Guidelines.
- Patient Education Resource: Understanding Your Tests.
- Patient-centered, Peer-reviewed by AACC (American Association for Clinical Chemistry).
Medical Letter This link opens in a new window
- Prescription Information on Drugs & Devices.
PDR.net This link opens in a new window
- Weekly updates of FDA-approved Drug information and alerts
- Provides drug look-up and comparisons, interaction checkers, pill identifiers, and more
- Available as an app
Vadlo This link opens in a new window
- Biomedical & Life Sciences Search Engine.
- Searches: Protocols, Databases, Software, Online Tools, and Seminar Presentations.

Ready Reference

Harriet F. Ginsburg Health Sciences Library

Find us

UCF College of Medicine

Contact us

407-266-1400
medlibrary@ucf.edu

Public Hours

Monday - Friday

8:00am to 5:00pm

(Guests 8:00am – 4:30pm)