HSL Library Guides: MDC 7800 Neurology: Databases, Apps, & Websites

Databases

A list of Health Sciences Library provided Databases for student use in the
MDC 7800 Clerkship module.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- Instant answers to Clinical questions.
- Clinical Case Files & Self-Assessment questions.
- E-Textbooks: Harrison's Online, Hurst's The Heart, Principles of Critical Care, and the Lange Series Textbooks.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
- An Evidence-Based, Clinical Decision Support tool which provides evidence-based recommendations on 3,000+ topics.
- Evidence is evaluated using two systems: Levels of Evidence & GRADE.
- Includes: Point-of-Care tools, ICD-9 codes, & Patient Information.
- Available as a mobile App.
Epocrates This link opens in a new window
- Epocrates provides drug information, interaction check, pill ID, clinical practice guidelines, formulary, athenaText, tables, and calculators.
- Epocrates Plus provides access to all the free content plus disease information, alternative medicine, ICD-10 and CPT codes, infectious disease treatment, and labs.
- Epocrates Plus is available to medical students. Follow these directions to get Epocrates Plus. You will need a medical education number. Click here to find/get your ME number or call the AMA Member Service Center at 800-262-3211. It is available Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM until 5:00 PM CST.
LWW Clerkship Collection This link opens in a new window
- Provides access to Lippincott clerkship content in the subjects of Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, OB/GYN, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, and Surgery.
Medscape This link opens in a new window
- Comprehensive, timely, and relevant clinical information for patient care, geared towards clinicians and other healthcare professionals.
- Free registration required to access some content.
PDR.net This link opens in a new window
- Weekly updates of FDA-approved Drug information and alerts
- Provides drug look-up and comparisons, interaction checkers, pill identifiers, and more
- Available as an app
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- Includes Links to Full-Text Articles where available.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- An Evidence-Based, Clinical Decision Support Resource.
- Authored by Physicians to help Healthcare Practitioners make the best decisions at the Point-of-Care.
- Available as an app.

Websites

American Academy of Neurology
The largest professional organization of neurologists in North America. Expert panels often review important clinical topics that are summarized in practice recommendations.
Neuromuscular Disease Center
Dr. Alan Pestronk’s neuromuscular disease web page is an excellent resource to learn more about disorders affecting the peripheral nervous system.

Apps

A list of Apps suggested for student use in the MDC 7800 Clerkship module.

DynaMed App This link opens in a new window
- Mobile access to DynaMed content
- Features Offline content access, Topic bookmarking, and Topic notations
- For installation instructions please see the M1 Technology Guide
Epocrates App This link opens in a new window
- Epocrates provides drug information, interaction check, pill ID, clinical practice guidelines, formulary, athenaText, tables, and calculators.
- Epocrates Plus provides access to all the free content plus disease information, alternative medicine, ICD-10 and CPT codes, infectious disease treatment, and labs.
- Epocrates Plus is available to medical students. Follow these directions to get Epocrates Plus. You will need a medical education number. Click here to find/get your ME number or call the AMA Member Service Center at 800-262-3211. It's available Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM until 5:00 PM CST.
Medscape App This link opens in a new window
- 8,500+ drugs, herbals, and supplements along with 6,200+ Reference articles for decision-making support
- Clinical tools: point-of-care drug and disease information, drug interaction checker, and pill identifier
- Free Medscape account required for app
mobilePDR This link opens in a new window
- mobilePDR® is the OFFICIAL drug information app from PDR®
- mobilePDR allows: Quick drug lookup, Drug comparison by left-right swipe, Drug interaction checker, Pill identifier, and more
- Registration for a free account is required
UpToDate App This link opens in a new window
- An Evidence-Based, Clinical Decision Support Resource App.
- The mobile version of the UpToDate database.
Access by McGraw Hill App This link opens in a new window
- This app is for the Access suite of products. The Health Sciences Library subscribes to AccessMedicine, JAMAevidence, Case Files Collection, and Pharmacotherapy Principles & Practice.
- A My Access account is required for the mobile app; Click here to create an account.

Ready Reference

Harriet F. Ginsburg Health Sciences Library

Find us

UCF College of Medicine

Contact us

407-266-1400 or medlibrary@ucf.edu

Public Hours

Monday - Friday

8:00 am to 4:30 pm