HSL Library Guides: MDC 7200: Internal & Family Medicine: Apps & Databases

Apps

An alphabetical listing of Faculty recommended Mobile Apps for all sections of the MDC 7200 Clerkship module.

ASCVD Risk Estimator Plus App
- Use app to estimate a patient's initial 10-year ASCVD risk.
- Present an individualized, risk-based, intervention approach and project the impact of specific interventions.
- Update risk at follow-up based on a patient's response to therapy.

Epocrates App This link opens in a new window
- Epocrates provides drug information, interaction check, pill ID, clinical practice guidelines, formulary, athenaText, tables, and calculators.
- Epocrates Plus provides access to all the free content plus disease information, alternative medicine, ICD-10 and CPT codes, infectious disease treatment, and labs.
- Epocrates Plus is available to medical students. Follow these directions to get Epocrates Plus. You will need a medical education number. Click here to find/get your ME number or call the AMA Member Service Center at 800-262-3211. It's available Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM until 5:00 PM CST.

Prevention TaskForce (formerly ePSS) Apps
- The Prevention TaskForce application was developed to assist primary care clinicians identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients.
- The Prevention TaskForce information is based on the current recommendations of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) and can be searched by specific patient characteristics, such as age, sex/gender, and selected behavioral risk factors.
GoodRX App
- The GoodRX app provides current cash and sale prices for drugs, manufacturer coupons, pharmacy discounts & savings tips for thousands of prescriptions at nearby pharmacies.
- Also provides information on drug side effects, pharmacy hours and locations, pill images, and more.
GoodRX for Doctors App
- Doctors can create a list of prescriptions and provide prices to patients via email or text.
- Keep a list of frequently-prescribed medications for quick access to savings for patients.
- Quickly research drug prices, news, and information for every prescription drug at every major pharmacy in the U.S.

UpToDate App This link opens in a new window
- An Evidence-Based, Clinical Decision Support Resource App.
- The mobile version of the UpToDate database.
Access Policy for UpToDate App
Off-campus or mobile access to UpToDate is strictly limited to current UCF College of Medicine, full-time teaching faculty, and medical students. If you are not a current, full-time medical student or teaching faculty, you cannot access UpToDate off-campus or from a mobile device.
If you have any questions regarding the UpToDate Access Policy or are experiencing issues accessing UpToDate, please contact the Health Sciences Library.

Databases

An alphabetical list of recommended databases for all MDC 7200 Clerkship module sections.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- Instant answers to Clinical questions.
- Clinical Case Files & Self-Assessment questions.
- E-Textbooks: Harrison's Online, Hurst's The Heart, Principles of Critical Care, and the Lange Series Textbooks.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- Peer-Reviewed Practice Guidelines.
- Customizable Patient Handouts.
- Gold Standard Drug Information.
- Full-Text Medical Reference Books & Journals.
- Full-Text Clinics Series.
The Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Contains the following Databases:
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
- Cochrane Database of Systemic Reviews
- Cochrane Methodology Register
- Database of Abstracts of Review of Effects
- Health Technology Assessment
- National Health Service Economic Evaluation
DynaMedex This link opens in a new window
- Combines the curated disease content of DynaMed with the comprehensive view into treatment options, depth and breadth of drug information, and advanced search capabilities of Micromedex.
- Evidence is evaluated using two systems: Levels of Evidence & GRADE.
- Includes: Point-of-Care tools, ICD-9 codes, & Patient Information.
- Available as a mobile App.
Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
- A Comprehensive, Point-of-Care, Drug Information Database.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- An Evidence-Based, Clinical Decision Support Resource.
- Authored by Physicians to help Healthcare Practitioners make the best decisions at the Point-of-Care.
- Available as an app.
Access Policy for UpToDate
On-Campus Access: Associated/Affiliated/Volunteer Faculty, Residents, UCF Students, and the General Public can access UpToDate in the Health Sciences Library during business hours. The Health Sciences Library hours are from 8:00 am - 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday.
Off-Campus and Mobile Access: Off-campus or mobile access to UpToDate is strictly limited to current College of Medicine, full-time teaching faculty, and medical students. If you are not a current, full-time medical student or teaching faculty, you cannot access UpToDate off-campus or from a mobile device.
If you have any questions regarding the UpToDate Access Policy or are experiencing issues accessing UpToDate, please contact the Health Sciences Library.
VisualDX This link opens in a new window
- A Clinical Decision Support System: Recognition & Diagnosis of Conditions by Visual Symptoms.
- Disease Presentation by: Age, Skin Type, Location, and Severity.
- Registration is required for the app.
- Available as an app for Apple & Android.

MDC 7200: Internal & Family Medicine: Apps & Databases

Apps

Apps

Access Policy for UpToDate App

Databases

Databases

Access Policy for UpToDate