Week 5 - Spirituality and Lifestyle Medicine - BMS 6050 Psychosocial Issues in Healthcare - HSL Library Guides at University of Central Florida College of Medicine

Week 5: Websites

American College of Lifestyle Medicine
The medical professional society providing quality education and certification to those dedicated to clinical and worksite practice of lifestyle medicine as the foundation of a transformed and sustainable health care system.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
Homepage for the NCCIH sponsored by the National Institute for Health (NIH).
NCCIH | Complementary, Alternative, or Integrative Health: What’s In a Name?
NCCIH's fact sheet on the definition of Complementary, Alternative, and Integrative medicines.

Week 5: E-Books

Integrative Medicine, 5e This link opens in a new window
Author: Rakel, David
Year: 2023
Medical Interview: Mastering Skills for Clinical Practice, 5e, The This link opens in a new window
Author: Coulehan, John L.
Year: 2006
Patient History: An Evidence-Based Approach to Differential Diagnosis, 2e, The This link opens in a new window
Author: Henderson, Mark C.
Year: 2012
Pocket Atlas of Chinese Medicine, 1e This link opens in a new window
Pocket Atlas of Tongue Diagnosis, 2e This link opens in a new window
Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing: An Evidence-Based Method, 4e This link opens in a new window
Spirituality in Healthcare: Perspectives for Innovative Practice, 1e This link opens in a new window
Textbook of Natural Medicine, 5e This link opens in a new window
Trigger Points and Muscle Chains, 2e This link opens in a new window
Author: Richter, Philipp
Year: 2019

Week 5: Databases

AccessMedicine: Patient Education This link opens in a new window
- 100+ Topics for Patient Education.
- Topics contain basic, critical, Patient Information.
- Fully customizable; print or email Topics.
ClinicalKey: Patient Education This link opens in a new window
- 10,000+ Patient Education Handouts.
- Handouts written at a 6th - 8th grade reading level.
- Spanish versions available for approximately 1/3rd of the Topics.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
- An Evidence-Based, Clinical Decision Support tool which provides evidence-based recommendations on 3,000+ topics.
- Evidence is evaluated using two systems: Levels of Evidence & GRADE.
- Includes: Point-of-Care tools, ICD-9 codes, & Patient Information.
- Available as a mobile App.
Health & Wellness Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- Contains: Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine.
- Resource for: Up-to-Date Reference Materials, Full-Text Magazines, Journals, and Pamphlets.
Healthfinder.gov This link opens in a new window
- An encyclopedia of 1,600+ Health Topics.
- Health Topics are available in English and Spanish.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
- Pre-formualated Searches of Information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institute of Health, and other Agencies.
- Provides access to: Journal Articles, Drug Information, Illustrated Medical Encyclopedia, Interactive Patient Tutorials, and the latest Health News.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
- Provides authoritative resources on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.
- Formerly called Natural Standard.

~ Return to Top ~

Week 5: Journals

Acupuncture in Medicine This link opens in a new window
Date Range: v.17, 1999 - present
ISSN: 0964-5284
Alternative Therapies in Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Date Range: v.4(6), 1998 - present
ISSN: 1078-6791
Complementary Therapies in Clinical Practice This link opens in a new window
Date Range: v.13, 2007 - present
ISSN: 1744-3881
Complementary Therapies in Medicine This link opens in a new window
Date Range: v.1, 1993 - present
ISSN: 0965-2299
Homeopathic Links This link opens in a new window
Date Range: v.18, 2005 - present
ISSN: 1019-2050
Hong Kong Journal of Occupational Therapy This link opens in a new window
Date Range: v.19, 2009 - present
ISSN: 1569-1861
Patient Education and Counseling This link opens in a new window
Date Range: v.25, 1995 - present
ISSN: 0738-3991

~ Return to Top ~

Ready Reference

Harriet F. Ginsburg Health Sciences Library

Find us

UCF College of Medicine

Contact us

407-266-1400
medlibrary@ucf.edu

Public Hours

Monday - Friday

8:00am to 5:00pm

(Guests 8:00am – 4:30pm)