HSL Library Guides: BMS 6635 Skin and Musculoskeletal: Databases

Quick Pick Databases and Their Apps

A selection of some of the most commonly referenced Databases from the Health Sciences Library.

Databases

AccessMedicine
- Instant answers to Clinical questions.
- Clinical Case Files & Self-Assessment questions.
- E-Textbooks: Harrison's Online, Hurst's The Heart, Principles of Critical Care, and the Lange Series Textbooks.
ClinicalKey
- Peer-Reviewed Practice Guidelines.
- Customizable Patient Handouts.
- Gold Standard Drug Information.
- Full-Text Medical Reference Books & Journals.
- Full-Text Clinics Series.
DynaMedex
- Combines the curated disease content of DynaMed with the comprehensive view into treatment options, depth and breadth of drug information, and advanced search capabilities of Micromedex.
- Evidence is evaluated using two systems: Levels of Evidence & GRADE.
- Includes: Point-of-Care tools, ICD-9 codes, & Patient Information.
EndNote
- Search Online Bibliographic Databases.
- Organizes References, Images, and PDFs.
- Bibliography & Figure List creation and management.
- Supports Multiple Languages.
Epocrates
- 3,300+ Brand-Name & Generic Prescription Drugs and 600+ Alternative Medicines.
- Includes: Prescribing Information, Pill Pictures & Identifier, and Drug - Herbal Interaction Tool.
Lexidrug
- A Comprehensive, Point-of-Care, Drug Information Database.
PubMed
- comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- Includes Links to Full-Text Articles where available.
UpToDate
- An Evidence-Based, Clinical Decision Support Resource.
- Created by Physicians to assist in making the best decisions at the Point-of-Care.
Access Policy for UpToDate
On-Campus Access: Associated/Affiliated/Volunteer Faculty, Residents, UCF Students, and the General Public can access UpToDate in the Health Sciences Library during business hours. The Health Sciences Library hours are from 8:00 am - 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday.
Off-Campus and Mobile Access: Off-campus or mobile access to UpToDate is strictly limited to current College of Medicine, full-time teaching faculty, and medical students. If you are not a current, full-time medical student or teaching faculty, you cannot access UpToDate off-campus or from a mobile device.
If you have any questions regarding the UpToDate Access Policy or are experiencing issues accessing UpToDate, please contact the Health Sciences Library.
VisualDX
- A Clinical Decision Support System: Recognition & Diagnosis of Conditions by Visual Symptoms.
- Disease Presentation by: Age, Skin Type, Location, and Severity.

Databases as Apps

Access by McGraw Hill App
- This app is for the Access suite of products. The Health Sciences Library subscribes to AccessMedicine, JAMAevidence, Case Files Collection, and Pharmacotherapy Principles & Practice.
- A My Access account is required for the mobile app; Click here to create an account.
ClinicalKey App
- This app is a clinical resource designed to provide physicians with fast, clinically relevant answers from Elsevier’s enormous library of proprietary medical and surgical content.
- This app is available for Android and iOS mobile devices.
- You must register for a free account on the ClinicalKey website to use the app. When you register, ensure you access ClinicalKey via the library’s website with your NID and NID password if off-campus. Use your UCF email address when you register. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email. Click the link in the email to activate your remote access. Remote access is for 180 days. After 180 days, you must log onto the ClinicalKey website via the library’s website and log into your account to re-activate remote access.
DynaMedex App
- Mobile access to DynaMedex content.
- Features offline content access, topic bookmarking, and topic notations.
- For installation instructions, please click here.
EndNote App
- App Version of EndNote Citation Management System.
- Organizes References, Images, and PDFs.
- Syncs with EndNote Web Accounts.
Epocrates App
- Epocrates provides drug information, interaction check, pill ID, clinical practice guidelines, formulary, athenaText, tables, and calculators.
- Epocrates Plus provides access to all the free content plus disease information, alternative medicine, ICD-10 and CPT codes, infectious disease treatment, and labs.
- Epocrates Plus is available to medical students. Follow these directions to get Epocrates Plus. You will need a medical education number. Click here to find/get your ME number or call the AMA Member Service Center at 800-262-3211. It's available Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM until 5:00 PM CST.
UpToDate App
- The mobile App version of the UpToDate database; an evidence-based, clinical-decision support resource.
Access Policy for UpToDate App
Off-campus or mobile access to UpToDate is strictly limited to current UCF College of Medicine, full-time teaching faculty, and medical students. If you are not a current, full-time medical student or teaching faculty, you cannot access UpToDate off-campus or from a mobile device.
If you have any questions regarding the UpToDate Access Policy or are experiencing issues accessing UpToDate, please contact the Health Sciences Library.
VisualDx App
- A Clinical Decision Support System: Recognition & Diagnosis of Conditions by Visual Symptoms.
- Disease Presentation by: Age, Skin Type, Location, and Severity.
- Registration is required for the app.
- App installation instructions available at Health Sciences Library: Apps.

Databases for BMS 6635

Databases

A list of Health Sciences Library provided Databases for the BMS 6635 module.

AccessMedicine: Image Search
- High-quality images of diseases and disorders.
- Type the keywords in the search box and filter by images.
- Source citation information is included if the image is downloaded as a PowerPoint slide.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
- 300+ narrated videos of actual cadaver specimens.
- Optimized for web, mobile, and tablet access.
- Produced by: Dr. Robert D. Acland, FRCS; Microsurgeon & Clinical Anatomist.
Bassett Collection of Stereoscopic Images of Human Anatomy
- Images from the 1962 edition of Stereoscopic Atlas of Human Anatomy.
- Content Licensed under: Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
- Images may be used for noncommercial purposes as long as the author is attributed with the image.
ClinicalKey: Images
- 3M+ High-Quality Images from Elsevier medical textbooks.
- Source citation information is included if the image is downloaded as a PowerPoint slide. This requires a FREE account.
Cochrane Library, The
- A collection of high-quality, evidence-based medical and healthcare databases produced by the Cochrane Collaboration, with the primary focus on systematic reviews of clinical trials and other healthcare interventions.
- It contains the following databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Facts & Comparisons E-Answers
- Authoritative Drug Information.
- Includes: A-Z Drug Facts, Drug Identification Tool, Herbal Interaction Facts, MedFacts Patient Information, 5-Minute Consult Series, and More.
JAMAevidence
- Provides Tools for understanding & applying Medical Literature and making Clinical Diagnosis.
- Includes: The User's Guide to Medical Literature, and The Rational Clinical Examination.
Medical Letter
- Prescription Information on Drugs & Devices.
Merck Manual
- Resource for the Diagnosis & Treatment of Medical Conditions.
Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations
- A list of the Netter Collection books on ClinicalKey.
- Provides a highly visual guide to each major body system in 14 lavishly illustrated books, including new and updated topics throughout.
- Offers a concise overview of complex information by integrating anatomical and physiological concepts with clinical scenarios.
Videos from The New England Journal of Medicine
- Searchable Archive of Videos on various Medical Topics provided by The New England Journal of Medicine.
VisualDX
- A Clinical Decision Support System: Recognition & Diagnosis of Conditions by Visual Symptoms.
- Disease Presentation by: Age, Skin Type, Location, and Severity.
- Registration is required for the app.
- Available as an app for Apple & Android.

~ Return to Top ~

Ready Reference

Contact Information

Public Hours	Monday to Friday 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Contact Us
Website	Harriet F. Ginsburg Health Sciences Library
Location	6850 Lake Nona Blvd. Suite 210 Orlando, FL 32827 Map it

BMS 6635 Skin and Musculoskeletal: Databases

Quick Pick Databases and Their Apps

Databases

Access Policy for UpToDate

Databases as Apps

Access Policy for UpToDate App

Databases for BMS 6635

Databases

Ready Reference

Contact Information