Skip to main content

EndNote X9 Library Guide

EndNote Download & Licensing

EndNote X9 Download & Installation

EndNote has different download and installation instructions for Mac OS and Windows OS; please select the appropriate instructions for your operating system.

 

If instructions for your operating system are not listed, please refer to the following page for more information on EndNote system requirements:
https://researchsoftware.com/software/bibliography/endnote/system-requirements


EndNote Licensing Information

The University of Central Florida provides EndNote citation software through a site-wide license for all current UCF students, faculty, and staff with a valid NID. Please read and review the University's licensing policies below before installing EndNote X9.

  • All students, faculty, and staff must comply with UCF's Use of Information Technologies & Resources Policy (4-002.2) and adhere to software licensing restrictions or be subjected to disciplinary action by the University.
  • The UCF EndNote Site License requires users to uninstall EndNote from all devices upon leaving UCF, or in the event the University no longer retains a subscription to the EndNote software.

Installing EndNote X9 on Windows

EndNote X9 for Windows
Download & Installation


  1. Make sure Windows is completely updated and close any Microsoft Office programs that are open.
  2. Click here to download EndNote X9 for Windows.
  3. Login with your NID and password to initiate download.
      If prompted during download, select the Save File option; DO NOT use the "Open with..." option.
  4. Locate the downloaded EndNote X9 zipped folder in your Downloads Folder.
EndNote X9 Unzipped Download
  1. Extract the EndNote X9 installation files from the zipped folder using one of the two methods outlined below.
      The downloaded files must be unzipped & extracted in order to properly install EndNote X9.
Extraction Method #1

Highlight the EndNote X9 zipped folder, click on the Compressed Folder Tools at the top of the Downloads Folder, and select Extract All.

EndNote X9 Unzip 1
Extraction Method #2

Right-click on the zipped EndNote X9 folder in Downloads and select Extract All

EndNote X9 Unzip 2
  1. The unzipped EndNote X9 files should automatically display in the Downloads window once they are extracted.
      If the files don't automatically open: go to your Downloads folder, find and open the unzipped copy of the EndNote X9 folder to see the extracted files.
  2. Find the ENX9Inst file and double-click it to start the EndNote Installer Wizard.
EndNote X9 Unzipped Installer
  1. You will be asked to accept the EndNote X9 License. Check to make sure that UCF Libraries appears as the Licensee before clicking Accept.
EndNote X9 License
Warning!
If the EndNote License does not list UCF Libraries as the Licensee, or if the EndNote Install Wizard asks for a License Code during installation, then the unzipped files are not being used for the installation!
Cancel the EndNote installation and double-check that you are using the unzipped & extracted files to install EndNote X9 before re-starting the installation.
For further assistance, please contact the Health Sciences Library or your Personal Librarian.
  1. Follow any further instructions from the EndNote Installer Wizard to finish installing EndNote.
  2. Once the installation is finished, EndNote X9 can be found under C: \ Program Files (x86) - ready to be added to your Desktop for set-up.

~ Return to Top of Page ~

Installing EndNote X9 on Macs

EndNote X9 for Macs
Download & Installation


Attention EndNote for Mac Users
If you are using EndNote on a Mac, please update your EndNote software to version X9.3 before updating to the new Mac operating system (macOS) 10.15 Catalina. All older versions of EndNote will NOT be compatible with this new operating system.
  1. Make sure your Mac is updated to MacOS 10.10 or higher and close any Microsoft Office programs that are open.
  2. Click here to download EndNote X9 for Mac.
  3. If prompted during download, either select Save File or make sure that the Open with... option is set to Archive Utility.
EndNote X9 File Download Options
  1. Open the Downloads folder on your Mac if it does not automatically open.
  2. If you did not use the Open with...Archive Utility option when downloading EndNote X9, you will need to extract EndNote X9 from the zip archive file with Mac's Archive Utility using one of the two methods outlined below.
      The downloaded files must be unzipped & extracted in order to properly install EndNote X9.
Extraction Method #1

Find the EndNoteX9SiteInstaller_Mac.zip file in your Downloads folder. Double-click on the file to have Archive Utility unzip and extract the files into the EndNoteX9SiteInstaller_Mac folder.

EndNote X9 Unzip Archive Utility
Extraction Method #2

In your Downloads folder, right-click on the EndNoteX8SiteInstaller_Mac.zip file, go to Open With and select Archive Utility. The unzipped files should appear in folder titled EndNoteX9SiteInstaller_Mac.

EndNote X9 Unzip Archive Utility alternate
  1. Open the unzipped EndNoteX9SiteInstaller_Mac folder and find the EndNoteX9SiteInstaller.dmg file. Double-click it to launch the EndNote X9 Installer.
EndNote X9 Mac Unzipped Installer
  1. If an Application Warning appears, click Open and enter your Mac Username & Password to grant installation permission.
EndNote X9 Mac Install Warning
EndNote X9 Mac Install Permission
  1. When the EndNote X9 Installer window opens, double-click the EndNote icon to start the installer.
  2. In the EndNote X9 installation box, check to make sure that it shows Licensed to: UNIV OF CENTRAL FLOR before clicking on Install.
EndNote X9 Installer
EndNote X9 Install Licensee
Warning!
If Licensed to: UNIV OF CENTRAL FLOR does not appear in the Install EndNote X9 box, or if the EndNote X9 Installer asks for a License Code during installation, then the unzipped files are not being used for the installation!
Cancel the installation and double-check that you are using the unzipped & extracted files to install EndNote X9 before re-starting the installation.
For further assistance, please contact the Health Sciences Library or your Personal Librarian.
  1. Follow any further instructions from the EndNote X9 Installer to finish installing EndNote.
  2. Once the installation is finished, EndNote X9 can be found in your Applications folder - ready to be added to your dock for set-up.

~ Return to Top of Page ~

About | Library Services | Research | Resources